A Glorious Journey: Complete ICC World Cup Winners 1975-2019

A Glorious Journey: Complete ICC World Cup Winners 1975-2019
Views: 18
0 0

The winners of the ICC World Cup from 1975 to 2019. The largest event in the cricket world is unquestionably the ICC World Cup, also known as the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) arranges the event, which is among the most viewed sports events on the planet, every four years.

England hosted the World Cup’s inaugural competition in 1975. Before the World Cup was eventually moved outside of Europe, England hosted the competition for the following two editions. 

A Glorious Journey: Complete ICC World Cup Winners 1975-2019

Pakistan and India co-hosted the event in 1987. The matches in this edition were lowered from 60 overs per innings to 50 overs per innings.

Australia and New Zealand shared hosting duties for the competition in 1992. Numerous modifications were made to the event for this edition, including day-and-night matches, the use of white balls in place of red ones, colourful apparel, and more.

The World Cup made a comeback to the subcontinent in 1996, co-hosted by Sri Lanka, Pakistan, and India.

The competition made a comeback to English soil three years later, and in 2003 it was conducted for the first time in Africa.

The competition was initially hosted by the West Indies in 2007; in 2011, India, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh shared the hosting duties.

For the second time since 1992, Australia and New Zealand jointly hosted the ICC World Cup in 2015. After four years, England once again hosted the tournament after a gap of two decades.

Speaking of ICC World Cup champions, the West Indies defeated Australia in the championship game to win the inaugural competition in 1975. They defeated England in the championship match four years later to retain their crown.

India earned their first World Cup victory in the third edition, preventing the West Indies from winning three straight.

Prior to Pakistan’s victory in 1992, Australia had won the World Cup in 1987. Arjuna Ranatunga guided Sri Lanka to a historic victory in 1996.

After three years, Australia won the first of three World Cups in a row, starting their dominance in the competition. Australia won the 2003 and 2007 World Cups under Ricky Ponting’s leadership.

The era of home dominance began with the 2011 World Cup. Before Australia and England did the same in 2015 and 2019, respectively, India was the first team to win the coveted trophy at home.

With five victories, Australia is the most successful team in ICC World Cup history.

Only West Indies and India have won numerous World Cup titles, excluding Australia.

The West Indies and India have each won the trophy twice. The other champions of the World Cup are England, Sri Lanka, and Pakistan.

ICC World Cup winners and runner-up list:

1975West IndiesAustralia
1979West IndiesEngland
1983IndiaWest Indies
1996Sri LankaAustralia
2007AustraliaSri Lanka
2011IndiaSri Lanka
2015AustraliaNew Zealand
2019EnglandNew Zealand

Here is a team-wise list showing the performance of the teams who have made it to the World Cup final:

TeamWinnersRunner-upYears WonYears Runner-up
Australia521987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 20151975, 1996
West Indies211975, 19791983
India211983, 20112003
Sri Lanka1219962007, 2011
England1320191979, 1987, 1992
New Zealand022015, 2019

Man of the match in the ICC World Cup Final list:

YearPlayerPerformance Details
1975Clive Lloyd102
1979Viv Richards138*
1983Mohinder Amarnath3/12 and 26
1987David Boon75
1992Wasim Akram33 and 3/49
1996Aravinda de Silva107* and 3/42
1999Shane Warne4/33
2003Ricky Ponting140*
2007Adam Gilchrist149
2011MS Dhoni91*
2015James Faulkner3/36
2019Ben Stokes84* and 0/20

ICC World Cup-Winning Captain List:

Talking about the World Cup-winning captains, West Indies legend Clive Lloyd was the first captain to lift the title in 1975. 4 years later, Lloyd led the West Indies to victory again. To date, only he and Ricky Ponting have won more than one World Cup as captain.

ICC World Cup winning captains list:

1975Clive LloydWest Indies
1979Clive LloydWest Indies
1983Kapil DevIndia
1987Allan BorderAustralia
1992Imran KhanPakistan
1996Arjuna RanatungaSri Lanka
1999Steve WaughAustralia
2003Ricky PontingAustralia
2007Ricky PontingAustralia
2011MS DhoniIndia
2015Michael ClarkeAustralia
2019Eoin MorganEngland
A Glorious Journey: Complete ICC World Cup Winners 1975-2019

Cric Habit

Stay ahead with the latest sports news! Expert football match predictions and cricket Dream11 predictions. Get insights into Cricket, Football, NBA. Follow for the latest updates!
0 %
0 %
0 %
0 %
0 %
0 %

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *