Starc and Maxwell Return: India vs Australia 3rd ODI News

Spencer Johnson and Nathan Ellis, both fast bowlers, have been ruled out of the forthcoming third ODI against India and Australia.

The third and final ODI of the three-match series is slated for Wednesday (September 27) in Rajkot.

Both bowlers were left out of the playing eleven for the opening ODI at Mohali. Spencer Johnson was granted his ODI debut in the second game, as Nathan Ellis warmed the bench.

Starc and Maxwell Return: India vs Australia 3rd ODI News

The left-arm bowler had a disappointing start, conceding 61 runs without picking up a wicket in his eight overs.

And, while he would have liked to play in the third ODI, a hamstring issue has kept him out. Nathan Ellis, on the other hand, is out with a groyne injury.

Both pacers have been sent home ahead of the third One-Day International. Fortunately for Australia, none of them have been selected for the World Cup roster.

Australia looks to avoid whitewash:

While Australia will be without Spencer Johnson and Nathan Ellis for the third ODI, the return of Glenn Maxwell and Mitchell Starc will give them a boost.

Due to a groyne injury, Starc has not played a competitive game since the conclusion of the Ashes series in July.

Maxwell, on the other hand, last played in July due to an ankle ailment followed by paternity leave.

Both players will be eligible for the third One-Day International, and Australia will be hopeful that their comeback will reverse their fortunes.

Australia has lost their past five One-Day Internationals and will be anxious to win their final ODI before the World Cup begins next month.

The tourists were defeated by 99 runs in the second ODI after losing the first by 5 wickets. They will be hoping to prevent a whitewash by winning the third ODI.

Australia squad for 3rd ODI

Australia ODI squad: Pat Cummins (c), Sean Abbott, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Tanveer Sangha, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Leave a comment

error: Content is protected !!